REGIONAL DISTRICT OF BULKLEY-NECHAKO

COMMITTEE OF THE WHOLE MEETING

Thursday, March 5, 2020

PRESENT: Vice-Chair Mark Parker

Directors Shane Brienen

Mark Fisher
Dolores Funk
Clint Lambert
Brad Layton
Linda McGuire
Jerry Petersen
Bev Playfair
Kim Watt-Senner

Directors Gladys Atrill, Town of Smithers

Absent Tom Greenaway, Electoral Area "C" (Fort St. James Rural)

Chris Newell, Electoral Area "G" (Houston Rural)

Michael Riis-Christianson, Electoral Area "B" (Burns Lake Rural)

Gerry Thiessen, District of Vanderhoof

Alternate Director Bob Hughes, Electoral Area "C" (Fort St. James Rural)

Staff Curtis Helgesen, Chief Administrative Officer

Cheryl Anderson, Manager of Administrative Services Alex Eriksen, Director of Environmental Services

Debbie Evans, Agriculture Coordinator John Illes, Chief Financial Officer Jason Llewellyn, Director of Planning Wendy Wainwright, Executive Assistant

<u>CALL TO ORDER</u> Vice-Chair Parker called the meeting to order at 10:30 a.m.

<u>Introduction – New Director</u> of Environmental Services

CAO Helgesen introduced Alex Eriksen, the new Director of Environmental Services and spoke of Rory Mckenzie's, Director

of Environmental Services, upcoming retirement.

AGENDA &
SUPPLEMENTARY AGENDA

Moved by Director Layton Seconded by Director McGuire

C.W.2020-4-1 "That the Agenda of the Regional District of Bulkley-Nechako

Committee of the Whole meeting of March 5, 2020 be received; and further, that the Supplementary agenda be dealt with at this

meeting."

(All/Directors/Majority) CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

Committee of the Whole March 5, 2020 Page 2

MINUTES

<u>Committee of the Whole</u>
<u>Minutes – February 20, 2020</u>

Moved by Director Petersen
Seconded by Director Watt-Senner

C.W.2020-4-2 "That the Committee of the Whole meeting minutes of February

20, 2020 be approved."

(All/Directors/Majority) CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

REPORTS

<u>Capital Reserve Summary</u> Moved by Director Watt-Senner

Seconded by Director Fisher

<u>C.W.2020-4-3</u> "That the Committee receive the reserves established by bylaw

summary for the year ending December 31, 2019; and,

That the 'Weed Vehicle' reserve be withdrawn and used towards the purchase of a new Environmental Services vehicle in the

2020 budget; and,

That a one-time capital grant to the Village of Burns Lake be made for the balance of the Burns Lake Rural Fire Protection Equipment Capital Reserve and the Burns Lake Arena Reserve and that a one-time capital grant to the District of Houston for the balance of the Houston Rural Fire Protection Equipment Reserve

be included in the 2020 budget."

(All/Directors/Majority) CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

April 2020 Committee and Board Meetings – Proposed

Date Changes

Moved by Director Watt-Senner Seconded by Director Lambert

<u>C.W.2020-4-4</u> "That the meeting dates in April 2020 be changed to Thursday,

April 9th and Thursday, April 23rd."

(All/Directors/Majority) CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

RDBN Food and Agriculture

Plan (Draft)

Moved by Director Watt-Senner Seconded by Director Brienen

C.W.2020-4-5 "That the Committee receive the Agriculture Coordinator's memo

titled "RDBN Food and Agriculture Plan (Draft)."

(All/Directors/Majority) CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

North Central Local
Government Association
(NCLGA) – Executive
Nominations

Moved by Director Lambert Seconded by Director Layton

C.W.2020-4-6 "That the Committee receive the Manager of Administrative

Services' memo titled "North Central Local Government

Association (NCLGA) - Executive Nominations."

(All/Directors/Majority) CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

Committee of the Whole March 5, 2020 Page 3

SUPPLEMENTARY AGENDA

ADMINISTRATION REPORT

Electoral Area "G" (Houston Rural) By-Election -Declaration Seconded by Director Playfair of Official Voting Results

Moved by Director Lambert

C.W.2020-4-7

"That the Declaration of Official Voting Results for the Electoral

Area "G" (Houston Rural) By-Election be received."

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY (All/Directors/Majority)

<u>ADJOURNMENT</u>

Moved by Director Playfair Seconded by Director Brienen

C.W.2020-4-8

"That the meeting be adjourned at 10:45 a.m."

(All/Directors/Majority) **CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY**

Mark Parker, Vice-Chair

Wendy Wainwright, Executive Assistant