REGIONAL DISTRICT OF BULKLEY-NECHAKO

REGIONAL TRANSIT COMMITTEE MEETING (Committee of the Whole)

Thursday, December 10, 2020

PRESENT: Chair Tom Greenaway

Directors Gladys Atrill - Via Teleconference

Shane Brienen Mark Fisher Dolores Funk Judy Greenaway Clint Lambert

Brad Layton - Via Teleconference

Linda McGuire Chris Newell Mark Parker Jerry Petersen

Michael Riis-Christianson

Sarrah Storey Gerry Thiessen

Staff Curtis Helgesen, Chief Administrative Officer

Cheryl Anderson, Manager of Administrative Services

John Illes, Chief Financial Officer

Deneve Vanderwolf, Planner 1/Regional Transit Coordinator

Wendy Wainwright, Executive Assistant

Via Tele- Dave Bradshaw, Manager of Transportation & Technical

Conference -Services, City of Prince George

Michael Coulson, Transit Planner, City of Prince George Linda Harmon, Director, Strategic Outreach & Business Engagement, Ministry of Transportation and Infrastructure Debbie Joujan, CAO, Village of Telkwa – arrived at 1:20 p.m. Lindsay Taylor, Government Relations Manager, BC Transit

Media Priyanka Ketkar, Lakes District News – left at 1:09 p.m.

CALL TO ORDER Chair Greenaway called the meeting to order at 1:02 p.m.

AGENDA & Moved by Director J. Greenaway
SUPPLEMENTARY AGENDA Seconded by Director McGuire

RTC.2020-2-1 "That the Regional Transit Agenda of December 10, 2020 be

approved."

(All/Directors/Majority) CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

Regional Transit Committee Minutes December 10, 2020 Page 2

MINUTES

Regional Transit Committee Minutes – October 8, 2020 Moved by Director Petersen Seconded by Director Storey

RTC.2020-2-2

"That the Regional Transit Committee meeting minutes of October 8, 2020 be adopted."

(All/Directors/Majority)

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

REPORTS

Bulkley-Nechako Regional Transit Service Committee Revised Terms of Reference Moved by Director Lambert Seconded by Director Brienen

RTC.2020-2-3

"That revised Bulkley-Nechako Regional Transit Service Committee Terms of Reference be approved as amended."

Opposed: Director J. Greenaway

Director McGuire Director Storey **CARRIED**

(All/Directors/Majority)

The Manager of Administrative Services mentioned that Bulkley-Nechako Regional Transit Service Committee Terms of Reference were revised to remove Procedure: #1. The revised version was distributed to all members of the Regional Transit Committee.

Chair Greenaway provided an update in regard to a meeting he attended in regard to determining options for transit service for the community of Fort St. James. He spoke of future meetings with stakeholders to move forward an option for Fort St. James. Lindsay Taylor, Government Relations Manager, BC Transit indicated that BC Transit plans to begin a check-in with communities on and off the Highway 16 Transit route system in the Spring of 2021. The check-in will provide an opportunity for all communities to provide input and to investigate opportunities moving forward to build service expansion for future requests of the Province.

Chair Greenaway provided an overview of the past community bus program with First Nations communities neighbouring Fort St. James. Linda Harmon, Director, Strategic Outreach & Business Engagement, Ministry of Transportation and Infrastructure mentioned that the Community Transportation Grant program has been extended for the First Nations Communities neighbouring Fort St. James. The Community Transportation Grant Program is also under review.

Director Funk asked how the role of the Regional Transit Committee could support the review process MOTI will be undertaking in 2021. Ms. Harmon indicated that she will provide the Regional Transit Committee's contact information to the Community Transportation Grant Program representative.

Regional Transit Committee Minutes December 10, 2020 Page 3

SUPPLEMENTARY AGENDA

Tom Greenaway, Chair

Bulkley-Nechako Regional Moved by Director McGuire Transit Service Annual Seconded by Director J. Greenaway Operating Agreement <u>Amendment</u> RTC.2020-2-4 "That Bulkley-Nechako Regional Transit Service Annual Operating Agreement Amendment be received." (All/Directors/Majority) **CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY** Moved by Director Newell <u>ADJOURNMENT</u> Seconded by Director McGuire RTC.2020-2-5 "That the meeting be adjourned at 1:25 p.m." (All/Directors/Majority) **CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY**

Wendy Wainwright, Executive Assistant